College Softball News

2014 MEAC Softball Championships

Photo courtesy of: MEAC Media Relations


NORFOLK, Va. – The Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (MEAC) will host its 2014 Softball Championship on Thursday, May 8 through Saturday, May 10 at the Ormond Beach Sports Complex in Ormond Beach, Florida.  The Bethune-Cookman Lady Wildcats and the Delaware State Lady Hornets will enter tournament play as the number one seeds.

Bethune-Cookman clinched the southern divisional title with a 12-3 conference record, including 2-of-3 games last weekend against rival Florida A&M to end regular season play.  The Lady Wildcats are 7-2 in their last nine conference games and 22-29 overall heading into the tournament.

Delaware State enters tournament play with a 15-3 MEAC mark and 32-15 overall record.  The Lady Hornets solidified a share of the conference’s regular season division title with a three-game sweep of Maryland Eastern Shore to close out the season.  Delaware State earned the top seed over Hampton following tiebreaking procedures.

Defending tournament champion Hampton Lady Pirates (15-3) also earned a share of the northern divisional title, following an 8-1 win over Coppin State today.  Hampton will enter tournament play as the number two seed followed by Norfolk State (third seed) and Coppin State (7-10) receiving the fourth and final spot.

Florida A&M (9-6) will enter tournament play as the number two seed in the south following a forfeit win over North Carolina Central and the tie-breaking head-to-head advantage against Savannah State.  Savannah State (9-6) earns the number three seed followed by North Carolina A&T at four (8-7).

The 2014 MEAC Softball Championship tournament gets underway Thursday, May 8 beginning at 10 a.m.

Bethune-Cookman (S1) will face Coppin State (N4), while Delaware State (N1) will meet North Carolina A&T (S4) in the tournament first games.  Game three will include Hampton (N2) versus either Savannah State (S3).  Game four will feature Florida A&M (S2) versus Norfolk State (N3). Both games three and four are slated to begin at 1:30 p.m. also on Thursday.

Only the top four teams from each division will compete for the tournament title.  Howard, Maryland Eastern Shore, North Carolina Central, Morgan State, and South Carolina State were all eliminated from conference play based on their regular season finish.

The championship finale is set for Saturday, May 10 beginning at 1 p.m.  A complete schedule of events and a credential application for media interested in covering the event can be found on

For more information on MEAC Softball or other sponsored sports, log on to

To Top