College Softball News

2014 MAAC Softball Championships

EDISON, N.J. – The field of six is set for the 2014 MAAC Softball Championships to be played at Alumni Softball Field on the campus of Fairfield University in Fairfield, Conn. Among the teams advancing to the championship are: Fairfield University, Iona College, Manhattan College, Marist College, Monmouth University and Siena College.

The Marist Red Foxes enter the championship as the 2013 defending champions and earn the regular season title with a conference record of 16-4. Marist receives the top seed in the six-team field and earns a bye from the first round games as part of the new six-team, double elimination format.

Also earning a bye will be the second seeded Fairfield Stags who enter the championship with a record of 15-5 in conference play and 20-20 overall. The Stags have fallen short the past three years, finishing as the runner-up in the championship and have not won a MAAC crown since 1991.

Iona will enter the championship as the third seed and will look to win its sixth MAAC trophy with its last coming in 2012. Filling out the bracket are the Siena Saints at the No. 4 seed, the Monmouth Hawks sitting at No. 5 and the Manhattan Jaspers at No. 6.

Fans can watch all the games in HD on MAAC.TV. The Awards show will be shown free of charge to viewers on MAAC.TV on Wednesday, May 7 at 7 p.m. Tickets can be purchased in advance at or at the gate when entering the field.

All the MAAC softball action can be followed on twitter by following @MAACSports and using the hashtag #MAACSoftball.

The 2014 MAAC Softball Championship schedule is as follows:
Wednesday, May 7:
Game 1 – #3 Iona vs. #6 Manhattan at 12:00 p.m.
Game 2 – #4 Siena vs. #5 Monmouth at 2:30 p.m.

Thursday, May 8:
Game 3 – #2 Fairfield vs. Game 1 Winner at 9:00 a.m.
Game 4 – #1 Marist vs. Game 2 Winner at 11:30 a.m.
Game 5 – Game 2 Loser vs. Game 3 Loser at 2:00 p.m.
Game 6 – Game 1 Loser vs. Game 4 Loser at 4:30 p.m.

Friday, May 9:
Game 7 – Game 4 Winner vs. Game 3 Winner at 11:00 a.m.
Game 8 – Game 5 Winner vs. Game 6 Winner at 1:30 p.m.
Game 9 – Game 7 Loser vs. Game 8 Winner at 4:00 p.m.

Saturday, May 10:
Game 10 – Game 7 Winner vs. Game 9 Winner at 12:00 p.m.
Game 11 – Game 10 Winner vs. Game 10 Loser (if necessary) at 2:30 p.m.

Fastpitch News ® (FPN) is dedicated to covering the sport of Women’s Fastpitch Softball. FPN provides news, analysis, opinions and coverage of College, High School, Professional and International Fastpitch leagues and organizations.


© Copyright Advanced Sports Media 2018, All Rights Reserved | 5855 Green Valley Circle, Suite 303, Culver City, CA 90230

To Top